Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

  • Subscribe

  • Warrior Lord

    Warrior Lord

    Paranormal Romance

  • Hanging by a Hair

    Hanging by a Hair, a Bad Hair Day Mystery by Nancy J. Cohen

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Shear Murder

    Shear Murder

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing Guide

  • Archives

  • Categories

Wired

Posted by Nancy J. Cohen on October 31, 2011

As I approach another trip to Disney World for Epcot’s Food & Wine Festival, plus an upcoming cruise on Allure of the Seas, I am contemplating the various electronic devices to bring along. Considering that each one has a charger and perhaps other accessories, I’ll need a special case just for these items. Here’s a potential list:

  • Camera: Take charger but leave home USB cable. Will transfer photos to computer later.
  • Alphasmart: For working on blogs. Can only type ahead, not go back and revise. Uses batteries. Leave home USB cable. Will transfer data to computer later.
  • Cell phone: Take charger.
  • Kindle: Take charger.
  • iPad: Take charger. Leave home cable for connecting to computer.

Okay, do I really need both an iPad and an Alphasmart? Probably not, but I’m new to the iPad and haven’t really typed anything on it yet. Other authors recommend the Pages app where you can save your file in Word. I should install that before we leave.

Notice that I haven’t mentioned bringing a laptop. My notebook computer is too heavy and the battery is dead. Besides, with all these other gizmos, I don’t need it. I do not plan to do much writing on vacation, but I like to have the capacity to scribble down blog topics and to keep up with online activities.

What about you? What do you lug along these days when you go away for the weekend or longer trips?

LAST DAY to “Like” my Facebook Fan Page and be entered for a chance to win a free copy of Dead Roots, my seventh Bad Hair Day mystery.

8 Responses to “Wired”

  1. Jeanne Meeks - said

    Will they stop you in security with all those electronics? lol. Learn to use the I-pad and skip the alphasmart. Download books to read onto the I-pad and skip the Kindle. They sound like wonderful trips. Enjoy.

  2. Good ideas, Jeanne! Do you have an iPad? If so, any apps to recommend?

  3. My Nook, my Camera, my clothes and me! LOL! I’m lucky to remember what I need to bring! Your
    Disney excursions sound like a lot of fun. Never would have pegged you as a Disney World lover, but it
    shows there still is a kid in you!!! :0)

  4. Mary, I am a longtime Disney fan and so is my husband. We went there to celebrate our engagement and have been going every year since, multiple times. We have annual passes and bought a condo nearby after we got tired of staying in hotels. Mickey Mouse, here I come!

  5. Never mind all that stuff. Pack me instead! :-)

  6. Rebecca Greene said

    Definitely take the cable for your camera to computer unless you have tons of space. I’m with Jeanne on the Alphasmart and Kindle. Main thing – have fun!

  7. Thanks, Rebecca. I do have a lot of space on my camera. I’ve never yet run out of room.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,843 other followers

