Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

  • Subscribe

  • Warrior Lord

    Warrior Lord

    Paranormal Romance

  • Hanging by a Hair

    Hanging by a Hair, a Bad Hair Day Mystery by Nancy J. Cohen

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Shear Murder

    Shear Murder

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing Guide

  • Archives

  • Categories

The Poisoned Pen

Posted by Nancy J. Cohen on November 7, 2013

One night in Scottsdale, I was invited to do a booksigning and discussed at The Poisoned Pen Mystery Bookstore. After a quick gourmet dinner nearby at Virtu, I entered the inviting store and introduced myself to the staff. Lee, Patrick, and David were all very helpful. They were enthusiastic about my books and set up a ring of chairs for guests.

P1020813 (800x600)   P1020814 (800x600)

The seats quickly filled and a lively discussion ensued. I talked about my Bad Hair Day mysteries and related how I was researching my next mystery while in Arizona. I’ve already written the synopsis for Peril by Ponytail and determined my cast of suspects. But I can’t begin writing without seeing the setting details in person. My experiences already caused me to make plot changes and altered my impression of the desert.

P1020815 (600x800)    P1020818 (800x600)

P1020817 (800x600)

A good time was had by all. Many thanks to the Poisoned Pen. Hope to see you guys again soon! If you’re in the Scottsdale area, be sure to stop in. http://www.poisonedpen.com

<><><>

Tomorrow, I am visiting Query Letters that Worked at http://dylannewtonwrites.blogspot.com/. Stop by and see what worked for me. And coming next on this blog is the Tanque Verde Dude Ranch.

<><><>

Fall into Reading Contest, Oct. 28 – Nov. 15
Enter to win an ebook copy of Dead Roots, my haunted hotel mystery and a $10 Starbucks gift card or one of three runner-up prizes. http://nancyjcohen.com/fun-stuff/contest/

November Booklover’s Bench Contest  Nov. 4 – Nov. 18
Enter to win a $25 Amazon or BN gift card or one of six runner-up ebook prizes. http://bookloversbench.com/contest/

8 Responses to “The Poisoned Pen”

  1. I’ve been to that bookstore several years ago. Such a thrill seeing a bookstore that caters specifically to mysteries, thrillers and suspense.

    Barbara Barrett

  2. Mare F said

    It looks like a lovely setting and wonderful time. Sorry I wasn’t closer.

  3. What a great opportunity to forge new ties with readers in a different part of the country! Independent bookstores are so accommodating and supportive – really, such a treasure.

  4. What a delightful event. We had a bookstore in Valdosta that had super events for authors. Sadly the chain went bankrupt and it closed.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,694 other followers

