Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

  • Subscribe

  • Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter and get a FREE Book

  • Hair Brained

    Hair Brained, a Bad Hair Day Mystery by Nancy J. Cohen

    Pre-Order Now

  • Facials Can Be Fatal

    Facials Can Be Fatal

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Haunted Hair Nights

    Haunted Hair Nights

    Cozy Mystery Novella

  • Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing Guide

  • Permed to Death

    Permed to Death

    Bad Hair Day Mystery #1

  • Murder by Manicure

    Murder by Manicure Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Hair Raiser

    Hair Raiser Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Archives

  • Categories

PAGE PROOFS

Posted by Nancy J. Cohen on November 30, 2009

I received my galleys via email this morning for SILVER SERENADE. It’s so exciting to work on this project through each stage in the publishing process. I can’t wait until the book is available for you to read. Meanwhile, I’m going through the story again, looking for last minute mistakes as this is my final chance at corrections. So far I’ve found two spacing errors that should be easy for the typesetter to fix. A reader at the publisher’s house plus my editor will also check through it one more time. We try to get it as perfect as possible before printing.

Often when an author gets the page proofs, we’re already writing another story. We have to take our mind from that world and put it back into the one we created before. Soon the story absorbs us and we are turning pages like our readers. I’ll be just as sorry to reach the end and say goodbye to my characters. As a reader, it’s sad when we finish reading a good book. As a writer, it’s sad but it’s also a relief when a project is complete. Then we can move on to the next story, while anticipating reader response from the upcoming book’s release.

5 Responses to “PAGE PROOFS”

  1. I like the insight to this. It’s so true. It’s sad to be finished, but you’re happy when you are because then you can begin anew with a fresh new project!//Barb

  2. It’s exciting. I just finished all that for my first book, which doesn’t come out until August. How did you deal with waiting for your first book to come out? Waiting’s the hardest for me.

  3. Thanks for sharing this. Have to say the book looks good. Good luck with this.

  4. You’re right, Margaret. It’s hard to wait for the book’s release when you’ve finished all the editing and proofreading. We’re eager for reader feedback but often it’s months before the book hits the shelves.

  5. This stage is always a challenge for me. I find it so hard to turn off the internal editor while reviewing page proofs and only correct typos. But it’s exciting, too, to finally see your story laid out in book form. Can’t wait to see Silver in print!

Leave a Reply

 
