Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

  • Subscribe

  • Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter Get a FREE Book Sampler

  • Hair Brained

    Hair Brained, a Bad Hair Day Mystery by Nancy J. Cohen

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Facials Can Be Fatal

    Facials Can Be Fatal

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Haunted Hair Nights

    Haunted Hair Nights

    Cozy Mystery Novella

  • Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing Guide

  • Permed to Death

    Permed to Death

    Bad Hair Day Mystery #1

  • Murder by Manicure

    Murder by Manicure Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Hair Raiser

    Hair Raiser Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Archives

  • Categories

NEW YEAR’S GOALS

Posted by Nancy J. Cohen on January 1, 2010

Happy New Year!

Once the mental fog clears and we get through this final holiday weekend, it’s time to start on those New Year’s Resolutions. Have you made yours yet? It’s not too late! What is it to be: exercise more, spend time with friends/family, work on hobbies, clean the clutter, watch the diet? We probably have more in common than we realize.

First I divide my goals into personal versus professional. The latter I separate into two sections: writing and business of writing. For the writing craft, I aim to write a complete proposal for a sequel to my proposed new mystery series. Right now, I only have the synopsis done, so I have to write the first three chapters. Then I want to revise another mystery proposal based on some comments I’ve received. Also on the list is to write a synopsis for a sequel to my futuristic. That’s three goals. I also have to polish a proposal for the sequel to my paranormal romance, before finally being free to either continue writing one of these books or try something totally new. Got all that? The good thing about these is….no deadlines. However, I will probably impose target dates for completion when I get started on each line item. This may be my usual writing schedule of five pages a day, unless I’m revising.

As for the business aspect, I should work on the electronic rights of my four earlier futuristics so these stories can be available for E-book readers. Then I’d like to index my blog posts for my own use, consolidate my email mailing lists, and look into online file storage. Then if I’m brave enough, maybe I’ll tackle Twitter. And these are only my professional goals.

Then we have the personal ones: Clean the Clutter is a resolution I make every year. Hey, I’ve made progress. I listed ten items on Craigslist and have sold three of them. Woo hoo! Books are on my clean out list this year. Anyone want to buy my Star Trek novel collection? Exercising is probably on everyone’s lists, but I have a Wii Fit Plus now so there’s no excuse anymore. Going back on a healthful diet is a third personal goal. So there you have mine. Good luck to you with your goals in 2010!

2 Responses to “NEW YEAR’S GOALS”

  1. I’m off to a great start after cleaning out my desk and surrounding area yesterday. I’m in commando mode, throwing out lots of stuff I’ve hoarded but don’t really need. Will do more today, although the tree and decorations need to come down, too.

    As for Twitter, don’t worry, it’s easy! Like Facebook minus everything but the status updates.

  2. It’s a good weekend for working indoors with the cold weather.

Leave a Reply

 
