Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

  • Subscribe

  • Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter Get a FREE Book Sampler

  • Hair Brained

    Hair Brained, a Bad Hair Day Mystery by Nancy J. Cohen

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Facials Can Be Fatal

    Facials Can Be Fatal

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Haunted Hair Nights

    Haunted Hair Nights

    Cozy Mystery Novella

  • Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing Guide

  • Permed to Death

    Permed to Death

    Bad Hair Day Mystery #1

  • Murder by Manicure

    Murder by Manicure Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Hair Raiser

    Hair Raiser Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Archives

  • Categories

SAPPHIRE PHELAN

Posted by Nancy J. Cohen on April 15, 2010

SAPPHIRE PHELAN is an author of erotic and sweet paranormal, fantasy, and science fiction romance, along with a couple of erotic horror stories. She also writes as Pamela K. Kinney, for horror, fantasy, science fiction, and two nonfiction ghost books, Haunted Richmond,Virginia and Haunted Virginia: Legends, Myths and True Tales. She lives in Virginia with her husband and two cats, Ripley and Bast. She admits she can always be found at her desk and on her computer, writing. And yes, the house and husband sometimes suffers for it!                          

How did you get started writing paranormal romance?

I started out published as a horror, fantasy and SF author, but been reading paranormal romance and I wanted to do that, too. So I wrote two short stories (both more fantasy romance than paranormal) and submitted both in 2005 to this publisher who was looking for fantasy romance stories for their print anthology. Both were accepted. Unfortunately, a year later the publisher closed its doors and gave everyone back their rights to their stories. During at the same time, I had just submitted an erotic medieval fantasy romance story, “The Curse” to this ezine, which was accepted. It was at that time I started to use the pseudonym, Sapphire Phelan, for any erotic paranormals I wrote. In 2006, my erotic paranormal SF romance short, Crimson Promise was accepted for Lady Aibell Press, an e-publisher (when LAP closed its doors and I got my rights back, I added more story to it and Crimson Promise was accepted by Phaze Books). From then on, I’ve been writing in this genre.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Has this always been your favorite genre?

Yes, though I love straight horror, fantasy and science fiction without romance, too.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

How long did it take you to get published?

I actually got published for three poems of mine back in spring 1972—for Hyacinths and Biscuits Poetry Magazine. Then I was published over years, mainly in poetry and one article. It took until 2005 for my first fiction piece to be published.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

You’re a member of Central Virginia Paranormal Investigations. Can you share some of your more unusual experiences?

Since I write nonfiction ghost books as Pamela K. Kinney and been to haunted places for that and later, with CVPI, did investigations, I’ve gotten evps (electronic voice phenomenon) on my digital recorder, snap photos of orbs and anomalies, and had personal experiences.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

You wrote a non-fiction book titled Haunted Virginia. What does it include?

Ghost stories (more the myths and legends, though have some real paranormal experiences too—like the owner of Natural Bridge Hotel killed his wife and kids and they haunt the grounds of the hotel. The real story is that it is a manager who committed suicide and he is the spirit that haunts the hotel), monsters, urban legends that are fake and some that been proven true, myths of famous Virginians (like George Washington and Edgar Allan Poe), African-American and Native American Virginia tales, and true stories that people think are myths, but are proven to be real (like the house made of Civil War tombstones in Petersburg, Virginia).
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Tell us about your writing process.

I write during the week most of the time and during the daytime when my husband is at work. This way, when he comes home from work, I can spend time with him. But I have written at night and on weekends when I have a deadline looming. Like now, I have a third nonfiction ghost book manuscript that is due by the end of May. And I wrote all month the sequel to Beast Magic, Dark Leopard Magic, so I could turn it in by February.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

What is your current book about?

A divorced man who is tired of the women he meets who want to get married or want the bad boy types, listens to a friend who lends him this book, The Dummy’s Guide to Demon Summoning, so he can summon a succubus. He does get one, but finds that it will be more than a one night stand.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

What is a succubus?

A succubus is a demon that seduces human males, mostly through nightmares while asleep. This would explain ejaculations. Same goes for incubus–seduces human women and even getting them pregnant. Of course, all is found is human male sperm, explained by they stole it from human males. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
What are you working on next? 
 
 I am working on the third nonfiction ghost book, Haunted Historic Triangle and Charles City now, then I will be working on sequel to Being Familiar With a Witch, A Familiar Tangle in Hell.
 
  
Ain’t Nothin’ Like Succubus Lovin’ blurb:
Finding a date was never more hellish. When Jordan Hudson borrowed his friend’s A Dummy’s Guide to Demon Summoning and called up a succubus, he found that dating and making love to a minion of Hell proves to be more than a one night stand.
 
 
 
 
 

RECENT TITLES 
 
 

 

Being Familiar With a Witch: http://www.king-cart.com/Phaze/product=Sapphire+Phelan/exact_match=exact

Unwitting Sacrifice (erotic Lovecraftian horror novella): http://www.amazon.com/Unwitting-Sacrifice-Sapphire-Phelan/dp/1934153621/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1267631870&sr=1-3

 

FOR MORE INFO, GO TO:

 http://FantasticDreams.50megs.com  

http://SapphirePhelansPassionCorner.blogspot.com

 

Advice to aspiring writers?
 
Keep on writing and submitting. If you want your dream bad enough, never give up. And join a writer’s critique group to help you hone your craft better.

 
 

6 Responses to “SAPPHIRE PHELAN”

  1. Thank you for the interview, Nancy. 🙂

  2. nancyholzner said

    Hi Sapphire,

    I really enjoyed meeting you at RavenCon this past weekend. I wish we’d had time to talk about your paranormal investigations — that stuff is fascinating. Have you ever come across anything that really scared you?

  3. Yes, I have a couple of times. One was Crawford Road at night that will be in my next ghost book (the ms is due to Schiffer by May)and actually in my past, at a place my husband and I rented.

  4. What a great name for a book! The title Ain’t Nothing’ Like a Succubus Lovin’. Fantastic!
    Great Interview Sapphire and Nancy, I love to learn a bit about the author when I get myself ready to read her book!

  5. Thanks for visiting, everyone. And thank you, Sapphire, for appearing on my blog.

  6. Thank you for having me, Nancy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
