Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

  • Subscribe

  • Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter Get a FREE Book Sampler

  • Hair Brained

    Hair Brained, a Bad Hair Day Mystery by Nancy J. Cohen

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Facials Can Be Fatal

    Facials Can Be Fatal

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Haunted Hair Nights

    Haunted Hair Nights

    Cozy Mystery Novella

  • Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing Guide

  • Permed to Death

    Permed to Death

    Bad Hair Day Mystery #1

  • Murder by Manicure

    Murder by Manicure Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Hair Raiser

    Hair Raiser Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Archives

  • Categories

MONDAYS

Posted by Nancy J. Cohen on May 17, 2010

This is one of those days when I’m getting nothing done. Well, that’s not totally true. I made critique group corrections on my WIP very early in the morning and tweaked the chapter I’m working on. Then I decided I needed to beef up my computer security. Whatever I did knocked my laptop offline. Now I can’t access the Internet on it at all. I tried all the tricks that have worked before and nada. I’d been thinking I need my computer guy to clean things up, so I put in a call for him. Help! I hate it when things go wrong on the computer, don’t you? I also called the furniture people about a fix that’s needed on our new sectional sofa and the roofers for an estimate on roof cleaning and my brother to say hello. Meanwhile, my husband and I are doing vacation planning. Wherever we want to go, it seems impossible to get a hotel room for less than $200 a night. Isn’t that absurd? Tomorrow will be another work loss with the maid and the computer guru coming in the morning. Maybe if I start writing at 5 am, I can be done with my pages by nine o’clock. Hey, it happens sometimes. And I’m still proofreading through 500+ pages of Moonlight Rhapsody for eBook formatting. Who can concentrate?

How is YOUR day going?

6 Responses to “MONDAYS”

  1. Boy, is this ever a timely post for me. I’m finding it next to impossible to concentrate on anything today and as a result I’m getting very little done. Like you, I’m focusing on the critique comments on my synopsis and adding my own revisions to it as well. I’ll consider this a successful day if I manage to get it finished before dinnertime.

    Speaking of which…

  2. Oh, right. Gotta run and put the rosemary potatoes in the oven. 🙂 Glad I’m not the only one who’s disorganized today.

  3. I turned in my edits to my editor, then enjoyed several hours with son and grandson–their first visit to our new place. Took care of annoying things that crop up when you move–changing addresses, dealing with paperwork to avoid penalty for early cancellation of cell phone service–our former carrier doesn’t get any reception here; ordered a washer, dryer & fridge. All those annoying details. And tomorrow we’re going down the mountain to get even more “stuff” for the house, so we’ll be gone most of the day. Maybe I can return to my new WIP on Wednesday.

  4. Terry, it sounds as though you have lots to do! Moving is a pain. Seems like you’re settling in, though. How nice that your son lives close by.

  5. Mona Risk said

    Nancy, I sympathise with your computer problems although all I have to do in that case is whine: “Honey, please, help.” I feel blessed to have a DH who is a computer guru. BTW he calculated that the cheapest and best hotels are…a cruise.

  6. Mona, your husband is right about cruising. We’ve booked two cruises, so we are looking for a quick two day beach getaway with our daughter and need two rooms.

Leave a Reply

 
