Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

  • Subscribe

  • Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter Get a FREE Book Sampler

  • Hair Brained

    Hair Brained, a Bad Hair Day Mystery by Nancy J. Cohen

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Facials Can Be Fatal

    Facials Can Be Fatal

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Haunted Hair Nights

    Haunted Hair Nights

    Cozy Mystery Novella

  • Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing Guide

  • Permed to Death

    Permed to Death

    Bad Hair Day Mystery #1

  • Murder by Manicure

    Murder by Manicure Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Hair Raiser

    Hair Raiser Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Archives

  • Categories

AUTHOR SANDRA SOOKOO

Posted by Nancy J. Cohen on June 8, 2010

Interview with Author Sandra Sookoo     

Sandra is a writer of romantic fiction.  Her portfolio includes historical, contemporary, and paranormal romances and she loves to blend genres and spice them up and often times will add humor as well.    

After catching the writing bug at the young age of ten, she’s gone on to grow her unique writing style.  She’s a regular contributor for the Paranormal Romantic’s blog and blogs bi-monthly with a great group of women at Embrace the Shadows.

When not immersed in creating new worlds and interesting characters, Sandra likes to read, bake and travel.  Her favorite place to spend vacation hours is Walt Disney World.  It’s where dreams come true, and that suits her just fine.

Writing is her ultimate dream job.

                                     

TELL US ABOUT YOUR LATEST BOOK.

 My latest book is my first (and probably only) mystery, LOL. Why my only one? Because I really confused the heck out of myself while writing it, and it took a while to unravel. But it was great fun to write. It’s a “locked house” mystery where all the suspects are already there.

Here’s the blurb:

Dancing may be hard…but no one expected it to be murder.

When sexy tap dancer Abigail Carlton, a.k.a. Ruby Slippers, is found dead and arranged in an artistic fashion on her coffee table, it’s up to Special Agent Quentin Banks to solve her murder.

But nothing is ever as it seems. Not only is Quentin a FBI career man, he doubles as an officer for the Institute of Magical Instruction…and the dancer’s death has supernatural energy written all over it.

Quentin must find who murdered Abigail, and he only has 24 hours to do it before his superiors take over his case.

Book video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P9K4AH-IKBU

Buy link: http://www.lyricalpress.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=3_25&products_id=154

WHAT GOT YOU INTERESTED IN THIS GENRE?

 I’ve always been interested in mysteries. My bookshelves are full of cozy who-dunnits. One day I decided to try my hand at writing one, and while I had fun writing, trying to keep all the balls in the air while holding onto a story line, adding tension, etc., was a bit stressful. So, while I had a follow-up book planned, I’m not sure I’ll finish it. Of course, knowing me, that bug will come back to bite and I’ll be gripped by mystery writing again. LOL.

WHAT KIND OF RESEARCH DO YOU DO?

 Not a whole lot for this book. It ties into my Holiday Magic series (the first three books out now with Lyrical Press) so I already had a good handle on the magical side of the book. The rest was getting the characters down and motivation. After that, it pretty much fell into place.

HOW LONG DID IT TAKE YOU TO GET PUBLISHED?

 With this book, a few months; however, the edits took several weeks because of the details surrounding the mystery and set-up. Thank goodness for my super awesome editor (Steph Syzmanski) for her knowledge and insight into the crime solving world. Without her guidance, this book would have been one hot mess. LOL. I have a huge amount of respect for authors who write in this genre all the time. How do you keep the facts straight?

WHAT IS YOUR WRITING ROUTINE?

 On a good writing day, I’ll usually begin writing around one in the afternoon. Sometimes, I’ll be gripped by an idea and will start work earlier. Most times, I use the morning hours to do promo work or busy work (filling out forms, etc). Of course, all this is subject to change depending on my personal schedule.

WHAT ARE YOU WORKING ON NEXT?

 At the moment, I’m working on two books. The first is a historical romance set in 1900 Indiana. The second is a fantasy romance (which is a new genre for me).

WHAT ADVICE WOULD YOU OFFER TO ASPIRING WRITERS?

 Always write. Write something everyday and don’t worry about the rules. You will learn the craft best by writing. And don’t ever give up no matter the negative you’ll come across.

IF YOU HAD A SECRET SUPERPOWER, WHAT WOULD IT BE?

 I would love to be able to tell if people were telling the truth when they talked.

WHERE IS YOUR FAVORITE VACATION SITE?

 Hands down, Walt Disney World. The hubby and I try to go every year for our anniversary instead of giving each other gifts.

WHERE CAN WE FIND MORE DETAILS ABOUT YOU AND YOUR BOOKS?

 My website: http://www.sandrasookoo.com

I’m also on Facebook and Twitter. Links to both of these sites are on the front page of my website along with blog sites I participate in and a recipe of the month.

Thank you for having me on your blog today. As a special gift, I am offering a prize pak to a lucky commenter. Please remember to leave your email address with your comment. Winner will be drawn the following morning.

Share/Bookmark//

20 Responses to “AUTHOR SANDRA SOOKOO”

  1. Thanks for having me on your blog! 🙂

  2. Teresa W. said

    Enjoyed the post today, I’m always looking for new authors to read! tWarner419@aol.com

  3. My pleasure. We were just in Epcot and went on the Living with the Land ride. I liked it better when they played the Listen to the Land song. I’m still fascinated by the fruits and veggies that grow without soil and the fish tanks.

  4. Thanks Teresa!

    I hear you Nancy. It always makes me want to rush right home and start a hanging garden–yet I have no clue how. LOL

  5. This book sounds so intriguing and I know what you mean about a mystery being so difficult to write. My favorite author, Laura Caldwell, has segued into mysteries and while I’ve been tempted to do the same, keeping track of those details is mind-boggling – lol – not my strong suit.

    Congrats on your accomplishments!

  6. Cindy said

    I cant WAIT until you get the historical romance done! I am now SO excited!! I have got to buy it the minute I can! Just update FB, and I’ll be off & running! 🙂 Hubby & I always ask what the other wants for gifts for birthdays, anniversary, Christmas…I asked for two of my FB authors books for our ann.!!!!

  7. Thanks Kathy. 🙂 Writing the mystery was the hardest of all my projects. LOL

    Thanks Cindy! I’m currently 20K into the historical. I’m hoping to have the first draft completed by end of July or middle of August. So far, I love it 🙂

  8. Stacey said

    Sandi, as always I’m excited to read this one! I just finished Fang and have requested it from my library! I HOPE they can get a copy of it! I have three of my friends wanting to read MY copy as well! I’m being selfish and told ’em to get their own copy 🙂 Gotta help a starving author right?

    Looking forward to Ruby!!! 🙂

  9. Thanks Stacey. I’m glad you loved Fang Shui so much! And yeah, tell your friends to buy their own. Support your local author LOL 🙂 Enjoy Ruby!

  10. Carol-Lynn Rössel said

    I’d love to read your book.

  11. Hey Sandi!

    Sounds like an awesome book….I’m definitely adding it to my Sookoo collection!

    =)

    carrie

  12. Nancy, Thanks for the invite to the interview. Sandra, your new release sounds just up my alley. Can’t wait to read it.

  13. Thanks, everyone, for stopping by and reading Sandra’s terrific interview. Her books all sound like Must Have’s.

  14. Thanks Carol! I hope you’ll pick it up!
    Thanks Carrie! I appreciate your support! 🙂
    Thanks Kaelee! I hope you enjoy it 🙂

  15. susan leech said

    This sounds like a great book and I sure would love to win it. My reader’s group should be ready for a good mystery and this sounds great. I will gladly share and pass this news on to many more friends. susan L. garysue@dejazzd.com

  16. Thanks Susan! I appreciate you spreading the word 🙂

  17. Winner of the drawing is Kaelee Morgan! Please send your mailing address to me at sandra.sookoo@comcast.net.

    Thanks for coming out! There will be other chances to win prizes this month. Stay tuned to my Facebook and Twitter pages 🙂

  18. Thanks again Sandra, for visiting my blog and giving a great interview.

  19. Can’t wait to pick up this one, sounds right up my alley!
    Good luck Sandy and I hope you sell a ton of books, make lots of money and become world famous!
    Wouldn’t that be grand!
    Truly good advise, you learn while you write.

  20. Thanks Mary! Hope you enjoy it 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
