Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

  • Subscribe

  • Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter and get a FREE Book

  • Hair Brained

    Hair Brained, a Bad Hair Day Mystery by Nancy J. Cohen

    Pre-Order Now

  • Facials Can Be Fatal

    Facials Can Be Fatal

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Haunted Hair Nights

    Haunted Hair Nights

    Cozy Mystery Novella

  • Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing Guide

  • Permed to Death

    Permed to Death

    Bad Hair Day Mystery #1

  • Murder by Manicure

    Murder by Manicure Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Hair Raiser

    Hair Raiser Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Archives

  • Categories

Nancy’s Ramblings

Posted by Nancy J. Cohen on October 22, 2010

I thought I’d pause in my conference reports to see if a) anyone cares for me to continue, and b) bring you up to date on what’s going on.

Basically, I’ve been working nose to grindstone, if that’s the proper expression, polishing my WIP. This is book two in my proposed paranormal trilogy.  When this revision is done, I’ll work on the plot for the next story.

Meanwhile, I’m excited that my favorite sleuth, Marla Shore, will be revisiting your homes once against when Five Star releases her next story in January 2012.  It’s a long wait but during this time will be line edits, copy edits, art department meetings, etc. so the publishing process takes a while. It’ll be worth the wait to finally join Marla and Dalton at an exciting upcoming event in their lives.  I am most grateful to my readers whose comments and encouragement inspired me to complete this story. 

The holidays rapidly approach, and I’ve put out our meager Halloween decorations: a few pumpkin thingies, candles, and some gold tinsel. I love the fall colors, the reds and oranges and yellows.  And Thanksgiving has always been my favorite holiday, and not because it’s also my birthday. 

It would help if our weather would cool down a bit.  The humidity has dropped but it’s 86 degrees out today.  All our landscaping looks great. Our gardeners took some bromeliads that were overgrowing our pool and planted them around a tree in front. With new mulch, everything looks much better.

We have another cruise coming up before the end of the year.  This will be a ten day voyage to the Southern Caribbean.  I’m especially looking forward to visiting the spice farms on Grenada.  Before then, we’ll be doing the Epcot Food & Wine Festival and visiting Universal’s Islands of Adventure for the Harry Potter attractions.  So that’s what is going on here.

Now, do you want me to continue with reports from the Ninc conference or stick to my own ramblings hereafter?

 

8 Responses to “Nancy’s Ramblings”

  1. Nancy, I’m enjoying your recaps from the Ninc Conf. Very informative! Thanks for doing them. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with your own ramblings, either.

  2. You could mix them up with a Ninc conference post one day and one of your “ramblings” lol another.

  3. Thanks, maybe I’ll mix em up a bit. Depends on what I have to say!

  4. I’ve been a little pressed for time lately, but I’ve also been planning to catch up on all of your Ninc posts. So don’t think no one cares! And I don’t think you tend to ramble. There’s always something valuable to learn here.

  5. Charlie said

    I’ve been really enjoying your reports. As someone who hopes to make a career in the industry I think this information is so vital. But, I think even if I wasn’t writing I would still be interested in what is happening in the world of books that I love so much.

  6. Thanks for your opinions. I appreciate the feedback.

  7. M. E. Kemp said

    Nancy – 86 degrees???? Trade places with you – we’ve allready had a frost. I do have one funny plant with little purple flowers that seems to be thriving with the cold in front of my little Victorian cottage in Saratoga Springs, NY. Outside of that, all the other plants could star as victims of a serial killer. Keep to your conference notes, please. You’ve got one reader’s nose out of joint! Marilyn aka: M. E. KEMP,author: DEATH OF A DANCING MASTER – due Nov. 20th.

  8. ME…upstate NY. Brrrr! Cold winters.

Leave a Reply

 
