Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

  • Subscribe

  • Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter and get a FREE Book

  • Hair Brained

    Hair Brained, a Bad Hair Day Mystery by Nancy J. Cohen

    Pre-Order Now

  • Facials Can Be Fatal

    Facials Can Be Fatal

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Haunted Hair Nights

    Haunted Hair Nights

    Cozy Mystery Novella

  • Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing Guide

  • Permed to Death

    Permed to Death

    Bad Hair Day Mystery #1

  • Murder by Manicure

    Murder by Manicure Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Hair Raiser

    Hair Raiser Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Archives

  • Categories

FRW Cruise Day 1

Posted by Nancy J. Cohen on January 25, 2011

FRW 2011 CRUISE CONFERENCE

CARNIVAL DESTINY

Photos: http://bit.ly/eJHnmq

DAY 1: Embarkation

Thursday, January 20, 2011

After driving down congested I-95 to Miami, we entered the port and parked in the outdoor lot by the Carnival Destiny. The terminal doors were already open so we pushed on through. We’d already checked in online so we entered the info at a kiosk and then stood in line to obtain our key cards. Boarding proceeded smoothly. Since we didn’t have access to the cabins until 1:30pm, my husband and I headed to Deck 9 for the buffet. After lunch, we located the library and registered for the Florida Romance Writers biannual Fun In The Sun Conference. Armed with the workshop schedule, we found our balcony cabin on Deck 6. More on the ship later. At 5:30pm, we headed to the Downbeat Lounge for a social hour with our fellow writers and spouses. Our founding mothers—Heather Graham, Sally Schoeneweiss, and Joan Johnston—were honored in a roast acted out by Kathleen Pickering, Traci Hall, and Aleka Nakis. This fond tribute was followed by a slideshow of FRW history, this being our 25th anniversary. We enjoyed late dinner together and then split up for various evening activities. Dinner: shrimp cocktail, Caesar salad, sautéed tilapia.

P1000719

Nancy, Heidi Cote, Mona Risk at Lifeboat Drill

P1000720

Miami Skyline

P1000725

Joan Johnston, Sally Schoeneweiss, Heather Graham

5 Responses to “FRW Cruise Day 1”

  1. Thanks for posting this, Nancy. I’m still trying to come down to earth (probably on a pile of laundry) after such a wonderful conference.

  2. I’ll be doing more posts. Am adding photos to my Facebook page. Is there any way to copy them to FRW page?

  3. traci hall said

    Hi Nancy! Getting to know you and your husband better was great, one of the best things about the cruise, I think, is that we have an opportunity to deepen friendships. YOu do such a nice detailed account of what went on. I can’t remember what I had for dinner, lol. Keep posting! Maybe it will jog my memory!

  4. I never had so much fun in my entire life. Nancy you always looked perfect, how do you do it!?!?

  5. Mary, me look perfect? Thanks, but…it’s called advance planning. Seriously. When I go to a conference, I figure out ahead of time what I’m going to wear and to which event. Unfortunately, I can’t do my own hair if you paid me, so that usually wilts after a couple of days. And Traci, you’re right. It was great getting to know each other better. I liked the informal socializing the best(and the drinks in the Criterion Bar).

Leave a Reply

 
