Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

  • Subscribe

  • Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter and get a FREE Book

  • Hair Brained

    Hair Brained, a Bad Hair Day Mystery by Nancy J. Cohen

    Pre-Order Now

  • Facials Can Be Fatal

    Facials Can Be Fatal

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Haunted Hair Nights

    Haunted Hair Nights

    Cozy Mystery Novella

  • Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing Guide

  • Permed to Death

    Permed to Death

    Bad Hair Day Mystery #1

  • Murder by Manicure

    Murder by Manicure Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Hair Raiser

    Hair Raiser Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Archives

  • Categories

Business for Writers

Posted by Nancy J. Cohen on April 26, 2011

One of my ongoing projects is to clean out old files. This afternoon, I poured through my Business writing file. I’m sad to say that I threw out nearly everything. Since the digital revolution and the introduction of e-books, email, etc., so much of what I’d saved has become out of date. Snail mail an editor your query letter? Forget it. Most of them want submissions online. Formatting details? Varies by publisher more than ever. Promotion? Toss the advice telling you what to do before the Internet became the place to be.

So what’s left? How to write a synopsis. Copyright info. Career planning. Those things don’t change a whole lot, although the career planning may include different goals…like staying published or self-publishing one’s backlist.

I even threw out explanations of bestseller lists. How is that relevant today with new lists for e-books and online reader sites and Listmania recommendations? So much important data from yesterday is irrelevant today.

Now I have new files: Book Trailers, Blog Tours, E-book Conversions, Cover Designers, etc.

Our world has changed. We have to adapt or else we risk becoming as extinct as those pages I tossed today.

4 Responses to “Business for Writers”

  1. Sage advice. Big changes are happening in this industry, and those who ignore it will likely regret it.

  2. Yes, being flexible and adaptable is key to staying in the game! Don’t worry, you’re too savvy and too talented to become extinct!

  3. Nancy, You’re a bit more organised that me. I’ve still got way too many files and little inclination to investigate exactly what they contain. As long as I can find what I need, I’m happy. Maybe one day I’ll have a tidy – only greater computer memory doesn’t push one much to housekeeping.
    Geraldine Evans
    http://www.geraldineevans.com
    The Rafferty and Llewellyn mystery series

  4. Rosalie, you’re right in that we cannot ignore change or we’ll be left behind. Allison, thanks for your wise words! And Geraldine, it may appear as though I’m organized, but when one pile of papers diminishes around here, another one enlarges. It’s a never-ending task to declutter. I’m with you in that at least I can find what I need. The problem is, I forget what I have in my files.

Leave a Reply

 
