Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

  • Subscribe

  • Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter Get a FREE Book Sampler

  • Hair Brained

    Hair Brained, a Bad Hair Day Mystery by Nancy J. Cohen

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Facials Can Be Fatal

    Facials Can Be Fatal

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Haunted Hair Nights

    Haunted Hair Nights

    Cozy Mystery Novella

  • Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing Guide

  • Permed to Death

    Permed to Death

    Bad Hair Day Mystery #1

  • Murder by Manicure

    Murder by Manicure Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Hair Raiser

    Hair Raiser Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Archives

  • Categories

May Musings

Posted by Nancy J. Cohen on May 2, 2011

On Sunday, we parked at North Hollywood Beach Park ($7 per day) and strolled along the Hollywood boardwalk, actually made out of bricks and not boards. It was a perfect morning. We walked past the sunburnt yellow, deep coral, and hot pink buildings, the amphitheater, and the numerous restaurants. At Josh’s Organic Garden, we bought some produce before turning back. After a two hour walk, we crashed in our air-cooled home for the afternoon.

Hollywood Beach

Now it is Monday and back to work. I have completed my WIP, finished my first round of line edits, revised the synopsis, and have now put it aside so I can gain some distance on the story before a final read-through. Meanwhile, I’m thinking about the sequel and jotting down notes on the next plot.

There are plenty of other projects to keep me busy. I tried to put my lectures into Power Point and failed, so I need a friend to teach me how to use the program. I have yet to learn Windows Movie Maker so I can make a book trailer for my January mystery release. I’ve started selecting photos and music at the royalty-free sites online, but it’s a tedious process. Then I’m still revising one of my backlist titles, another time-consuming project. I need to update my mailing lists and send out another newsletter, devise upcoming contests, set up a blog tour. And the list goes on. Sorting through old family photos and files is beginning to sound more appealing. But this period in between book projects is a good time to get things done. Or not. Somehow the less busy you are, the less you accomplish.

6 Responses to “May Musings”

  1. Let me know how you come out with Windows Movie Maker. That project is on my list, too.

  2. Will do, Kathleen! Thanks for stopping by.

  3. I was going to have a friend make a trailer for my last book, but she said, “start by picking out your music,” and she sent me to a royalty-free site. Talk about tedious! I couldn’t find anything that really fit, and I finallly gave up and had no trailer. Oh well.

  4. I find the music a lot harder to search than the photos, which can be kind of fun although time consuming. And even if I find an appropriate melody, I’m not sure I’ll be able to put the trailer together. We’ll see. There’s always something new to learn!

  5. Sharon said

    Gosh, I just loved, PERISH BY PEDICURE! So funny, quaint and since I now reside in Florida I dig reading local books. I have a lot of time on my hands right now (kinda in between jobs, but looking). So, by my own selfish wants/and needs, is there any good creative writing programs in the South FL area? I’m curious as to where you went college for writing, or if you are self taught? Good luck with the all your projects, don’t stress yourself out and HAPPY MOTHERS DAY TO ALL MOMS’!

  6. Thanks so much, Sharon. If you’re looking for creative writing programs, check out our local writing organizations like Florida Romance Writers http://www.frwriters.org or Florida chapter of Mystery Writers of America http://www.mwaflorida.org/. They have monthly meetings with speakers and conferences for writers. Some of the colleges have creative writing courses. Also keep watch at http://www.murderonthebeach.com, a mystery bookstore which will be starting writing workshops soon.

Leave a Reply

 
