Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

  • Subscribe

  • Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter Get a FREE Book Sampler

  • Hair Brained

    Hair Brained, a Bad Hair Day Mystery by Nancy J. Cohen

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Facials Can Be Fatal

    Facials Can Be Fatal

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Haunted Hair Nights

    Haunted Hair Nights

    Cozy Mystery Novella

  • Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing Guide

  • Permed to Death

    Permed to Death

    Bad Hair Day Mystery #1

  • Murder by Manicure

    Murder by Manicure Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Hair Raiser

    Hair Raiser Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Archives

  • Categories

Post-Holiday Greetings

Posted by Nancy J. Cohen on December 26, 2011

We’re finally past the gift giving and holiday meals for now. Nothing much happens in the business world between Christmas and New Year’s, so I am enjoying the quiet and our balmy Florida weather. Not one to waste time, I’ve started revisions on Warrior Lord, final book in my Drift Lords trilogy. This means I’m tightening sentences, correcting inconsistencies, filling in emotional reactions. It’s a slow process as I examine every line for possible improvements. Doing revisions is so much better after putting aside the project for a few weeks. I have a fresh perspective on the story, and reading it through in one chunk helps me catch a lot of fumbles.

It’s also a quiet time of year for reflection on what we’ve accomplished. Did you meet your goals for this past year? Here were mine. Let’s tally up the successes:

WRITING GOALS

Warrior Lord—Write synopsis and finish book (DONE).
Murder at the Yacht Club—Submit proposal and finish book (DONE).
A Little Night Murder—Complete proposal and finish book (MOVE to 2012).

BUSINESS GOALS

Revise Keeper of the Rings and convert into ebook format (DONE).
Compose Quarterly Email Newsletter (DONE).
Prepare video book trailer for Shear Murder (DONE).
Update mailing lists (DONE).
Create marketing plan for Shear Murder. (DONE).
Revise handouts for speaking engagements (DONE).
Hold an Author Chat (Move to 2012).
Publish a Podcast (Move to 2012).
Self-publish father’s true-life travel journal of his hitch-hiking adventure in 1929 across the U.S.. (Move to 2012).

Wow, I got a lot done but I still didn’t get to do everything. No matter; that’s to be expected. What is most important is that you try.

What’s next for me? After Warrior Lord is ready for submission, I plan to decide on which mystery novel to work on at the start of 2012. I should polish the blogs I’ve written for my upcoming blog tour. And I could prepare my winter newsletter.

Or…should I laze in front of the television and watch the Star Trek episodes I’ve recorded on VHS tapes? Which would you choose? And what would YOU like to see me work on next?

4 Responses to “Post-Holiday Greetings”

  1. I wish I could one tenth as organized as you are Nancy! No wonder your career is blooming~ Good luck and Happy New Year my friend!

  2. Happy New Year to you too, Mary. I hope all your dreams come true and multiply!

  3. I agree with Mary, your organizational skills are amazing. I need to finish my current wip, and then see about getting rights back to my early books. After that…did you say Star Trek? 🙂

  4. Allison, after you finish your current wip, you need to do a proposal for the sequel. I can’t wait to read more of this series.

Leave a Reply

 
