Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

  • Subscribe

  • Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter Get a FREE Book Sampler

  • Hair Brained

    Hair Brained, a Bad Hair Day Mystery by Nancy J. Cohen

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Facials Can Be Fatal

    Facials Can Be Fatal

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Haunted Hair Nights

    Haunted Hair Nights

    Cozy Mystery Novella

  • Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing Guide

  • Permed to Death

    Permed to Death

    Bad Hair Day Mystery #1

  • Murder by Manicure

    Murder by Manicure Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Hair Raiser

    Hair Raiser Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Archives

  • Categories

Warrior Prince Excerpt: Part 1

Posted by Nancy J. Cohen on September 6, 2012

Today begins a series of excerpts from my upcoming release, WARRIOR PRINCE: Book One in the Drift Lords Series. I hope you’ll follow along and leave a comment. All commenters will be entered into a drawing for one of my ebook backlist titles. Two lucky winners will be announced at the conclusion of this series. September also offers you a chance to win more prizes. Go to my Contest page to see all your opportunities.

Warrior Prince Excerpt: Part 1
Copyright 2012 by Nancy J. Cohen

“Hi, I’m Nira Larsen, here for an interview,” she told the receptionist, whose solemn stare and black attire would have suited the funeral home she’d visited earlier.

“Please be seated until you are summoned.” The woman’s blunt-cut dark hair swung as she pressed a button on her console to announce Nira’s arrival.

Nira glanced at the small waiting area with its threadbare carpet, row of vinyl seats, and musty odor. Why was no one else here? And why did this place appear so seedy, with peeling paint and grime-coated windows? Maybe she didn’t want to work for people who treated their applicants with such disrespect.

Nonetheless, she’d like to land a position at Drift World. On her budget, she couldn’t afford a ticket to the role-playing adult theme park, but getting a job there would solve that problem. Plus she needed the money for other reasons.

She took a seat, an odd buzzing in her ears. It had started when she walked into the place. But even weirder had been the way the theme park’s temporary employment office appeared to materialize out of thin air.

The address specified on the classified ad had taken her next to a popular café on Orlando’s International Drive. Maybe she was just tired after her last two disastrous interviews, but she could have sworn this log cabin hadn’t been in the parking lot when she’d arrived.

<><><>

What would you think if you were applying for a job at this place?

Watch the Book Trailer

Pre-Order Now!

10 Responses to “Warrior Prince Excerpt: Part 1”

  1. Nancy, over the decades I’ve had some very scary job interviews also… but I think my shoes would be on fire from the speed of my exit if I was in Nira’s situation at that moment.

  2. Jacqueline Seewald said

    Very intriguing, Nancy. Great beginning.

  3. As a reader, I’d stay. As an applicant, I’d run.

  4. scrapgirl1467 said

    Oh how exciting, a sneak peek. . . I have to admit, I am one who prefers to use my imagination rather than being “told” what characters or locations look like with pictures. I guess that is part of why I usually don’t enjoy movie adaptations of my favorite books, it spoils my image of the characters. This looks like an interesting read, and usually it wouldn’t be my genre, but you have me hooked so far!

    • I am glad you are hooked, and thanks for the response re including character photos. I’ve decided as you, that imagination is best. If people want visuals, there’s my video trailer.

  5. Lisa Rayns said

    I agree. If i was desperate for work, I would suck it up and pray for the interview to end quickly.

Leave a Reply

 
