Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

  • Subscribe

  • Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter and get a FREE Book

  • Hair Brained

    Hair Brained, a Bad Hair Day Mystery by Nancy J. Cohen

    Pre-Order Now

  • Facials Can Be Fatal

    Facials Can Be Fatal

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Haunted Hair Nights

    Haunted Hair Nights

    Cozy Mystery Novella

  • Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing Guide

  • Permed to Death

    Permed to Death

    Bad Hair Day Mystery #1

  • Murder by Manicure

    Murder by Manicure Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Hair Raiser

    Hair Raiser Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Archives

  • Categories

Goals Met

Posted by Nancy J. Cohen on December 31, 2014

Happy New Year! It’s traditional on this day to revisit what’s been accomplished over the past twelve months. So I dug up my goal list from this time last year to see what actually got done. Here we go:

WRITING GOALS

Finish Peril by Ponytail, #12 in the Bad Hair Day Mysteries. (DONE; Turned in, edits finished, book is scheduled for release in October 2015)

Do edits for Warrior Lord, #3 in the Drift Lords series, when I get them from my editor. Read through the page proofs until this project is complete and in production. (DONE; Book Released August 2014)

WarriorLord_w8513_300

Complete edits on Murder at Your Service, an original mystery that I plan to indie publish. (NOT DONE; put this project on the back burner.)

 

BUSINESS GOALS

Implement marketing plan for Hanging By A Hair, #11 in the Bad Hair Day Mysteries, due out in April. (DONE)

HangingbyaHair (518x800)

Complete legal preparation for indie publishing venture by the end of January (DONE). Hire book cover designer and book formatter (DONE).

OGP MINI LOGO BLACK

Publish Writing the Cozy Mystery in time for SleuthFest at the end of February. (DONE).

Cozy

Design marketing plan for Warrior Lord (DONE).

Begin prep work for Thumbs Up, my father’s travel memoir, a true adventure of his cross-country hitchhiking journey in 1929. (DONE AND PUBLISHED).

Thumbs Up

So it appears I’ve accomplished all but one of my goals. I had two works of fiction and two works of nonfiction published in 2014. That’s quite enough, since launch parties and promo took up the rest of the time. In fact, that’s more than what I hope to do in 2015. In another post, I’ll share my new goals for the coming year.

How about you? Did you get done all you set out to do?

 

2 Responses to “Goals Met”

  1. Reblogged this on Gwyn Huff-Author and commented:
    My Mom always read Agatha Christie novels, and I could never get into them. Then I read a Stephanie Plum Novel, and shortly after, I saw a movie based on the same character. Stephanie Plum. I realized I liked Stephanie Plum-the character a lot.
    Anyway, the book, Writing the Cozy Mystery by Nancy J Cohen–turned on a whole set of “lights” on in my creative brain. I can’t wait to read the “A Bad Hair Day Mysteries” by Nancy J Cohen.

    If you are a writer, don’t miss “Writing the Cozy Mystery”. I know about the structure of writing, but it was “Writing the Cozy Mystery’ that connected all the “switches”.
    Thanks, Nancy J Cohen! 3.75/5 stars for Writing the Cozy Mystery.
    I’m pretty tough on my ratings; my four and five shelves have very few books on them. Bravo! Bravo! Excellent book. I can’t wait to get the paper copy from Amazon. Now, I’m going to read my first of the “Bad Hair Day Mysteries”. I don’t think “cozy mystery” conveys the real deal–the protagonist has to be someone the reader wants to get to know about her personal life while she solves murders! Thanks, Nancy J. Cohen!

Leave a Reply

 
