Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

  • Subscribe

  • Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter and get a FREE Book

  • Facials Can Be Fatal

    Facials Can Be Fatal

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Haunted Hair Nights

    Haunted Hair Nights

    Cozy Mystery Novella

  • Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing Guide

  • Peril by Ponytail

    Peril by Ponytail

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Hanging by a Hair

    Hanging by a Hair, a Bad Hair Day Mystery by Nancy J. Cohen

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Permed to Death

    Permed to Death

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Archives

  • Categories

The Edgar® Awards

Posted by Nancy J. Cohen on May 8, 2015

I had the privilege of attending the Edgar® Awards for my first time. Arriving in NY, I checked into the Hyatt Grand Central where the week’s events would take place. That night was the Agents and Editors Party sponsored by Mystery Writers of America. Here I greeted Neil S. Nyren from Putnam and told him how excited we were that he’s our Publisher Guest of Honor at SleuthFest 2016. Besides myself, other members of the Florida chapter were present, including
Grand Master Lois Duncan, plus members Dianna Collier and Oline Cogdill. Also familiar were fellow Board of Directors members from national MWA. I went around and introduced myself to total strangers, most impressed by the guy who claimed he wrote the Richard Castle books. The Mary Higgins Clark Award was presented this evening.

P1040561 P1040560

The next night was formal dress. First there was a special reception for award nominees. It was exciting to congratulate each one and wish them luck. They were honored and excited to be there. We filtered into the ballroom, and I took a seat with other board members up front. We could see the Edgar® head statues, the closest I’ll ever get to one. And I stared in awe along with everyone else as Stephen King took the podium. He won for Best Novel and told us how his book Mr. Mercedes came about. Sara Paretsky, President of MWA, was elegant and dignified in a long gown. She addressed the crowd, and most of the award presenters had a piece to say as well. The meal was delicious: wild mushroom bisque en croute; seared filet mignon with mushrooms and scalloped potatoes; and a chocolate tart for dessert.

P1040581IMG_1414

P1040583  P1040585

P1040588 P1040589

As I exited the ballroom, I noticed hordes of people gathering around several tables in the foyer. These appeared to be stacked with books that folks were grabbing. Lo and behold, books by the nominees were available free for the taking! I came away with an armful. Fun for me is trying the YA books, but I selected a few others as well. As cozies are more my thing, I looked forward to Malice and finding some new authors there.

See all my photos here (and Like the page while there): https://www.facebook.com/NancyJCohenAuthor

Contest Alert!

Enter my May Madness contest May 7– 21 to win a signed copy of bestselling author Joanna Campbell Slan’s historical mystery, Death of a Dowager, and a $15 FANDANGO gift card to enjoy a movie this summer. Two runners-up will each win an ebook copy of Hair Raiser (Bad Hair Day Mystery #2). http://nancyjcohen.com/fun-stuff/contest/

Enter May 4-18 to win a $25 Amazon/BN gift card from Booklover’s Bench http://bookloversbench.com/contest/ Check out our other features, including a weekly giveaway, while you’re there.

Coming Next: New York City, Malice Domestic, Washington D.C.

 

18 Responses to “The Edgar® Awards”

  1. jagjhd said

    I am curious whether I am the Judy who won as a runner-up on March via Booklovers??? Slan and Cohen are fave authors.

  2. laurieg72l said

    Wow! It looks like you were surrounded by great authors and delicious food. Free books to go! Unbeatable!

  3. Michelle Fidler said

    Sounds like fun.

  4. jagjhd said

    I did inquire at the time but got no reply

    .

  5. Heather R. said

    That sounds like it was a fun and swanky evening!

  6. Kristen said

    Great blog. Can’t wait to read your great mysteries.

  7. The Edgar Awards décor was something else, and the food looked enticing but getting an armload of books and seeing all the other authors had to be the BEST part. Wish I could have been there too. I have big arms that could hold many books!!!!!! 🙂
    Thank you for reading.

    Cynthia

  8. Thanks for the report! Can’t wait to get there myself someday.

Leave a Reply

 
