Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

  • Subscribe

  • Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter

    Sign up for my Newsletter Get a FREE Book Sampler

  • Hair Brained

    Hair Brained, a Bad Hair Day Mystery by Nancy J. Cohen

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Facials Can Be Fatal

    Facials Can Be Fatal

    A Bad Hair Day Mystery

  • Haunted Hair Nights

    Haunted Hair Nights

    Cozy Mystery Novella

  • Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing the Cozy Mystery

    Writing Guide

  • Permed to Death

    Permed to Death

    Bad Hair Day Mystery #1

  • Murder by Manicure

    Murder by Manicure Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Hair Raiser

    Hair Raiser Audiobook

    Audiobook

  • Archives

  • Categories

FWA Conference – Day 1

Posted by Nancy J. Cohen on October 27, 2017

This was my first time attending the Florida Writers Association annual conference. The theme was “What A Character.” I didn’t attend the Thursday all-day workshop with bestselling author David Morrell, but I did hear him speak later on. Instead, I checked into the hotel and went to faculty orientation followed by a general welcome for conference attendees.

Friday morning, things began in earnest with a breakfast buffet at 7am. Scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes, bagels and pastries were on the menu. We sat at genre tables to speak to other writers in our specific categories. Here I am with true crime author Carla Norton.

IMG_0323IMG_0325

First on the agenda was my talk on “Writing the Cozy Mystery.”

IMG_0329IMG_0338IMG_0330

I put away my laptop and attended Carla’s workshop on “True Crime – Stranger than Fiction.”

IMG_0341

Then I wandered through the bookstore organized by Murder on the Beach and the silent auction rooms. Lunch was a bountiful buffet of Italian food.

IMG_0343 IMG_0342

At 2pm, I was on a panel titled “Dredging Up Your Dark Side” moderated by Ken Pelham. Also on this panel were Carla Norton, Doug Dandridge, Micki Browning, and Dan Alatorre.

IMG_0347IMG_0354 

Later that afternoon, I attended a panel on “Effective Book Marketing with POEM” by speaker Keith Ogorek.

IMG_0355

That evening was a welcome reception with superhero-costumed characters. The picture with a foursome has Carla Norton, Ken Pelham, Vic DiGenti, and literary agent Mark Gottlieb.

IMG_0358IMG_0360IMG_0361

A sit-down dinner was followed by a keynote address from bestselling author Steve Berry.

IMG_0365IMG_0363

To view all my photos, visit my Facebook Author Page. Please Like the page while you are there.

 

Save

7 Responses to “FWA Conference – Day 1”

  1. In December, I host Friday Writers’ Notes topic “Conferences.” All my spots are filled but I’d love to get your opinion on this conference.

    • I’ll have a few more posts coming from this conference. Not sure what you want?

      • December posts will be an overview of conferences and how to chose: one-size-fits-all; small vs large; specialized vs general; readers/fan-based conferences vs. craft events. Also, genre-related is pretty broad. For instance, I write mysteries but wouldn’t attend a conference that specialized in cozys as I write police procedurals. This is what my posters will be discussing. I gave you all this info in case you had a comment that related to any of the above. I’m thinking about extending this topic into January. If so, would you be interested in a post?

        • Sure, I can write a post. Contact me at nancy.j.cohen(at)comcast.net
          Have you ever attended SleuthFest?

          • Nope, never been to Sleuthfest. So far, I’ve stayed on the West Coast (and Las Vegas), but the 2018 Sleuthfest program has someof my favorite authors-PJ Parrish, Katherine Ramsland, wow! As it stands now, I’m going to a day long conference in Santa Rosa (the part that didn’t burn down…) in April and Public Safety Writers Conference in July in Las Vegas.

  2. BTW, I will certainly link my December 1st post to your about this conference!

Leave a Reply

 
