Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

Too Many Great Posts, Not Enough Time

Posted by Nancy J. Cohen on August 22, 2018

Do you get so caught up in reading blogs, webinars, and posts and/or listening to podcasts, that you get nothing else done? I have been catching up on reading newsletters from my professional writing organizations, trade journals to which I subscribe, plus blogs on marketing and other business aspects of writing. If only I could clear my Inbox, I tell myself, I’d turn my focus to the nine backlist titles that I still have to reissue.

technology-791029_1920

And yet the more of these articles that I read, the more that keep popping up in my email. Moreover, reading this advice makes me feel terribly guilty. Why am I not able to do all these things? The articles offer wonderful marketing strategies and tips, and yet I’d need to be either thirty years younger to have the energy or three clones to manage it all.

Meanwhile, I am accomplishing nothing else. Is it because I’ve lost my mojo? Or is it that I can’t move on to new material until I get these backlist titles done? Then again, maybe it’s burnout and time for a break. It used to be that I put my writing goals first in the morning before glancing at email or social media. What happened to this self-discipline?

So I’ve decided to skim these articles, file the information for later, and do only what I can for now. It’s more important to move on to the next project. This means I need to practice BICHOK more often – Butt in Chair, Hands on Keyboard. Get off the couch, and go to work.

This goes for you, too, my fellow writers. Let’s pay less attention to the “should” demons (i.e. the things you should be doing) and more time to the work we can control. Your success is only as good as the next book. It’s not dependent on how many social media posts with cute memes you’ve posted.

GIVEAWAY

Enter Here Aug 9 – 23 to win a signed advance reading copy of TRIMMED TO DEATH, #15 in the Bad Hair Day Mysteries.

 

12 Responses to “Too Many Great Posts, Not Enough Time”

  1. Just the advice I needed today! Thank you, Nancy!

  2. Nancy,

    I do read other people’s blogs and hope they read mine as well. It does take time away from my writing, but I think it’s important to support fellow writers.

  3. I totally feel your pain. Great post.

  4. You’ve summed it up well, Nancy. Thanks for letting me know I’m not the only author to feel this!

  5. I’ve cut my blog list to a bare handful. Right now I’m taking an on-line marketing class and at the rate I’m going, it’ll take a year to finish. And you’re probably a much better person than I am, because I didn’t see you mention playing solitaire or chasing other computer squirrels.

  6. Well said, Nancy. I needed this jumpstart! Thanks, bunches.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.